Evergreen School District #2 is located in the Northwest Quarter of the Southwest Quarter of Section 12, Township 23 North, Range 2 East, Campbell Road, Klacking Township, Ogemaw County. The Evergreen School was originally named the Peter's School and located in the Northeast Quarter of the Northeast Quarter of Section 14 on the Charles Peters farm. The District was annexed to Rose City School in 1958, and later demolished. Records are sparse on who donated the land, who built the school, who taught there, and when the school closed. There are, however, several class photographs available. Anyone having additional photos or who can identify students in the existing photos is asked to contact the Ogemaw County Coordinator, Grace Dooley.

Most of the existing records have been compiled by The Rose City Area Historical Society, Post Office Box 736, Rose City, MI 48654

1901 to 1902- Alta F. Goff
1903 to 1904 - Olive Janson Reetz
1911 - E. Florence Nolan
1913 - Lottie Meadows
1923 to 1924 - Cordie Rusher Nichols
1924 to 1926 - Hiram Rose
1928 to 1929 - Viola Peters Schick
1930 to 1931 - Marie E. Buhlman
1932 - Mrs. Therese Slater
1935 to 1938 - Mrs. Therese Slater
Unknown Date - Joan Morgan Green
Unknown Date - J. C. McGowan

Peters School, 1901-1902: Alta F. Goff, teacher:
List of students: Albert Bartels, Anna Bartels, Freda Bartels, Charlie Belnap, Addie Blair, Eddie Belnap, Frankie Belnap, Josie Blair, Anna Boddy, Charlie Boddy, Robert Boddy, Vernia Boddy, Bertha Bohley, Emma Krugh, George Krugh, Hattie Meadows, Nellie Meadows, Ralph Meadows, Herman Peters, Ella Remer, William Remer, Floyd Rowland, Cordia Spencer, Nellie Spencer, Charlie Spiering, Cecil Thornton, Iva Thornton, and May Twiliger.

Evergreen School, 1903-1904: Olive Janson, teacher:
Included in photo: Olive Janson (teacher), Anna Bohley, ??? Belknap, ??? Belknap, Freda Bartels, Herman Peters, Ralph Meadows, Emma Krug, ??? Cook, Charlie Spiering, Willie Belknap, Hattie Meadows, Josie Blair, Nellie Meadows, Addie Blair, Anna Bartels, ??? Cook, and ??? Cook.

Evergreen School, 1911: E. Florence Nolan, teacher:
Front row: Charles Reetz, Cearil Kohn, Walter Gussman, Veda Chase, Verba Chase, Flynt Harris, Edward Reetz, Clarence Reetz.
Back row: Mable Reetz, Lelah Spencer, Nancy Conrad, Nellie Meadows, E. Florence Nolan (teacher), Marion Meadows, Hattie Gussman, Pat Wheeler, Clarence Kohn, Henry Blair, Paul Gussman.
Students not included in photo: Donald Adams, Neal Mathews and Henry Gussman.

Evergreen School, After 1913: Lottie Chambers Meadows, teacher:
Included in this photo: Henry Blair, Merrill Blair, Leonard Chase, Veda Chase, Verba Chase, Paul Gussman, Walter Gussman, Flynt Harris, Lottie Meadows (teacher), Hazel Peters, Viola Peters, Charles Reetz, Clarence Reetz, Edward Reetz, Gladys Reetz, Helen Reetz, and Mable Reetz.

Evergreen School, 1930-1931: Marie E. Buhlman, teacher:
Included in this photo: Gerald Blair, Harry Blair, Joe Blair, Mrs. Buhlman (teacher), Bill Dolph, Doris Reetz, Dwight Reetz, and George Reetz.

List of Students, 1933-1934:
Doris Reetz (8th).

List of Students, 1934-1935:
Viola Pollington (8th), Dwight Reetz (8th), Hazel M. Westrick (8th).

List of Students, 1935-1936; Therese Slater, teacher:
Jean Moyer (8th), Dean Spencer (8th).

List of Students, 1937-1938:
Joseph Blair (8th), and Ray Valley (8th).

Evergreen School, Unknown Date: Joan Morgan Green, teacher:
Included in this photo: Evelyn Everitt, Joan Morgan Green (teacher), John Schneider, Ronald Schneider, Sarah Vaughn, Shirley Vaughn, and maybe Amos Vaughn.

Evergreen School, Approximately 1990: All that is left.

Please submit any information you would like to see on this site
by contacting the County Coordinator, Grace Dooley

Go Back to Ogemaw Home Page

Jan Cortez, State Coordinator, MIGenWeb

© This Website was created and copyrighted June, 2005 to present by Grace Dooley
All Rights Reserved

This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion
without the written permission of the Webmaster.