The Neal School District #4 was located in the Southeast Quarter of the Northeast Quarter of Section 26, Township 24 North, Range 2 East, North Campbell Road, Rose Township, Ogemaw County, Michigan. The District was annexed to Rose City School in 1956.
Few records exist on who donated the land, who built the school, or who taught there. If you have any information concerning the Neal School, you are asked to contact the Ogemaw County Coordinator, Grace Dooley.

Most of the existing records have been compiled by The Rose City Area Historical Society, Post Office Box 736, Rose City, MI 48654

1912 - Ina Hammond
1928 - (Sarah) Leone Nye
1935 to 1937 - Roland Church
1937 to 1939 - William Fuhrman
1953 to 1954 - Loretta Reetz
Unknown Date - Mamie Bixby (Wolfe)
Unknown Date - Ina Hammond

Neal School, June 28, 1897

Neal School, Approximately 1914
Front Row:
Elaine Shaw, Eathel Linton, Joy Abbott, Eva Abbott, George Rice, Cecil Abbott, Otis Rice, Leone Nye, Joey Perry, Willie Perry, Lowell Rice, Henry Rice.
Middle Row: Florence Borden, Vera Brooks, J. D. Linton, Vernon Dumas, Ola Graves, Virgil Dumas, Robert Linton, Harold Rice, Garold Dumas, Earnest Gifford, Bessie Williams, Leo Graves, Amos Graves, Devere Borden.
Back Row: Violet Linton, Lula Abbott, Archie Linton, Elsie Gifford, Sarah Borden, Nellie Stewart Colbert, Iva Graves, Leah Borden, Vera Rice, Calvin Borden, Calude Abbott, Warren Rice, Thurman Dumas, Ray Birchfield.

List of Students, 1933-1934:
Bert Royer (8th)

List of Students, 1935-1936:
June Barber (8th) and Frances McGregor (8th).

List of Students, 1937-1938:
Ralph Craddock (8th).

List of Students, 1938-1939:
Ida Corwin (8th), Robert Craddock (8th), Donald Holly (8th), Milton McGregor (8th), Marjorie Miller (8th), Louis North (8th), and Marguerite Selesky (8th).

List of Students, 1953-1954:
David Dobie, Ronald Dobie, Sandra Hoffman, Sharlotte Hoffman, Henry Inman Georgann Lautenslager, Betty Teeples, Billy Teeples, Catherine Teeples, Dale Teeples, and Nicky Joe Teeples.

Neal School, Approximately 1990, as a residence.

Please submit any information you would like to see on this site
by contacting the County Coordinator, Grace Dooley

Go Back to Ogemaw Home Page

Jan Cortez, State Coordinator, MIGenWeb

© This Website was created and copyrighted June, 2005 to present by Grace Dooley
All Rights Reserved

This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion
without the written permission of the webmaster.